When preparation is not everything

April 11, 2006 at 3:51 pm (IQPC)

I had my first ever sales brief today.

Apart from the odd half an hour I had yesterday yesterday preparing the brief, I had little time to think of stuff to say during the brief. Even my now-famous slide presentation was compiled 5 minutes before briefing time.

Usually I won’t be unnerved with such situation. I have done it before, I can do it again – and it helps that the conference that I am pitching on is something that I truly love and believe in.

But when you walked into a room of 6 people, your heart will beat a tad faster. Top that up that the managing director and the sales director were among the six, you will get really nervous.

I was thinking, “What the hell are they doing here?”

No one warned me that they will be there, not even my team leader. I had a feeling I got ambushed.

I got really nervous, and when I started the introduction to the conference topic, I hear myself speeding up, and Sandra the sales director has to slow me down.

Nodding, I took a deep breath, and started again.

2 hours later (which was exceedingly long for a sales brief), I walked away from the room relieved and satisfied that the session went well.

Little did I know that words were going around that the pitch was the best in IQPC history, ever.

Of course I am flattered. Maybe my informant may over estimating it. But flattered I am.

As I thought back to the mad scramble 5-minutes before the brief, I couldn’t help but think that preparation, (un)fortunately, is not everything.

Leave a Reply

